Quick Write: PitFall

This is just a quick scenario. I never actually finished the entry.

I stooped low, no longer able to stand upright, due to this narrowing, dark, sultry, dungeon of a cave. Still, it wasn’t going that badly, and I needed the artifact.

That’s when the ground opened up.

I scrabbled for a hold on the walls, rocks tumbling all about; the air whistled whistled louder, louder, as I fell, faster faster. My eyes watered, my limbs flailed… And then I relaxed.

After all, there wasn’t much I could do about it.

I became acutely aware of every indentation, every imperfection in the stone around me, despite the fact that it was whizzing past me so fast, my eyes barely recognized what they saw. I couldn’t hear anything, despite the boulders bouncing and scraping on the walls. It was almost peaceful… quiet… serene.

I waited for something to happen.

One thought on “Quick Write: PitFall

  1. I LOVE what you’ve done here! Awesome job with the cadence, the build up of tension. Great tone, great choices throughout in your paragraphing, word choice, use of repetition.

    I look forward to reading more like this!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *