Homework

Grown- ups think “How hard could it be?” It could be very, very hard. They think you go to an enjoyable day at school, learning the information the world has to offer. You then go home and practice a little in each subject and take the rest of the day off.

There could not be a worse representation of the facts. You learn nothing in school. You go home and stay up till, oh, eleven thirty or so, and go to bed. There is no free time.

The homework isn’t fun either. No, it is quite possibly the bane of my existence. Hour after hour, the only sound in my house is the sound of my pencil scratching on paper. Scritch, scritch. I hate it. Hours upon hours of boredom. Desolation. Silence.

I wake up the next day, and all I have to look forward to is more of the same.

Oh summer, where are you? I fear I may be going insane. Maybe I already am.

4 thoughts on “Homework

  1. The “scritch, scritch” is a great touch…as is the use of “bane of my existence” and the “Desolation. Silence.” Well done.

  2. I would agree Julius, that is EXACTLY how homework is, and for no reason also. We spend an hour learning it and then have to spend another hour scribbling on a piece of paper for what? To “remember” what we learned a few hours ago! If we don’t remember it the first time, we will review it before the test, homework is a unnecessary waste of time.

  3. Too true~ homework is so useless and time consuming.
    I like how you had voice in your writing to make it more interesting.

  4. I’m just looking through my old posts as part of an English assignment. Guess what time it is? 10:30. Guess what time I started on my homework? 7:30. I still have a couple more subjects of homework left to do. This is the first free time I’ve had all weekend, and I’m spending it ALL doing homework. After I’m done, I’ll go to bed, wake up and go to school. The amount I got tonight is about the average amount of homework assigned every night. Students have no life. I’m not just making this stuff up. (Sorry, I tend to rant)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *